Write a Novel: August Update

September 3, 2014 § Leave a comment

I am grooving on this revised schedule. It seems like, at least for August, I found the deadline sweet spot between way-too-much and way-not-enough.

8 Houses

I’m right on track in developing the structure for my crazy cult and am surprised but happy to discover that the members of my cult are not just crazy. They’re also funny, smart, stubborn, daring, innovative, sweet and overall complicated.

This group of loveable characters is finally starting to breathe life and light into a topic that until now has been way too dark. I have no trouble keeping up on this assignment. It’s my favorite.

Screen Shot 2014-09-01 at 1.19.28 PM

Fiction Practice

In my new “MicroStory” strategy, I got to read a chapter on Character Development in August. The characters in my novel definitely benefitted from what I learned and my short story did too. Because I was short on time and because I am continuing to flounder on my second short story for this year (memoir about my car = no go), I gave myself permission to combine my Microstory Character Assignment and the first draft of my short story this month. Write one thing, cross two things off.

Check.

Screen Shot 2014-09-01 at 1.19.51 PM

And check.

Screen Shot 2014-09-01 at 1.20.22 PM

A girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do.

I am still not happy with the subject of my short story (it’s weird) but I’m not sure I get to be picky about that. The story is a solid story and it’s time to see something through.

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Write a Novel: August Update at AndThen....

meta

