Fall Fun List

September 25, 2014 § 2 Comments

I was at a friend’s house a few years ago and saw a list she made with clear input from her kids and husband. It was a list of “goals” for winter, which included sledding (twice), learning how to cross-country ski and making a snowman. Being a list girl, I loved this idea but also worried that this list could mess with me. It could turn all that is fun into something else to keep us running. I dismissed is as an amazing idea for “other people to do.”

But this list stuck with me. I kept thinking about how happy it was to have a list that was just for fun. Just for stuff you really hoped you would get to do. I also loved how it was related to a season.

This fall has been tough. Not tough in any kind of way that will have serious long-term repercussions. It’s just full of change and emotion and starting all over to find our grove. We’ll get there but sometimes all I want is to go back to July.

So finally, I allowed myself to make a list for fall (September/October).  And I asked the boys to add their ideas too. What we have now is just a list of things that could make us happy. I love it and have so far resisted the temptation to make us crazy doing everything. So far we haven’t done anything but to be honest, even if all we do is have the list, I think it’s successful. It highlights the opportunities instead of just the trouble. Here’s our list. 5 points if you can guess which one was Eldyn’s.

  • Pumpkin patch
  • Watch the Twin Cities Marathon
  • Scenic day trip
  • Zoo
  • Science Museum
  • Ride an elephant
Tagged:

§ 2 Responses to Fall Fun List

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fall Fun List at AndThen....

meta

