Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami

October 7, 2014 § Leave a comment

Screen Shot 2014-10-07 at 8.31.47 PM

The bad thing about reading 4-6 books at one time is that you feel like you aren’t making progress for a very long time. The good thing about reading 4-6 books at the same time is that when you start to finish them, you finish a whole bunch of books all in a span of a week or two. Bam, bam, bam. Bam, bam, bam! That is why I am writing yet another review, this time on Haruki Murakami’s book Kafka on the Shore.

I know I’ve said this before but Haruki Murakami is my go-to author when I need my brain to get more creative. Or said in another way, when I need my brain to take a chill pill. Luckily for me, Murakami has what seems like an endless repertoire of books so I am never without something to read when I need it.

With each passing book, I’m less surprised although less surprised is still pretty surprised. He uses some of the same tactics over and over — things like characters in solitude, strange sex scenes, weird violence and not-human characters that are creepy yet pivotal to the plot. But, somehow this doesn’t bug me. Even though it happens over and over. It’s what I sign up for, I guess.

<pause for awkward introspection>

The things that set this book apart from his others were 1) A protagonist who I cared a little less about than usual and 2) The use of a very accessible and engaging opening scene. Man, I wanted to know more. And man, I was frustrated to realize that given the author, I probably never would. (TBD if my predication came true, no spoilers here!)

A note on raunchy – Although I love his books, I have a hard time recommending them to my friends. There are scenes in each of his books that stick with you and then pop into your head when you think about recommending it to your mom.  But, I know the scenes are just part of the deal. They sneak up on you and then you’re reading them and then you’re not. I wouldn’t want them to not be there. But then again, that would make it a lot easier to fully endorse. So read it. But only because you want to. Not because I told you to.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kafka on the Shore by Haruki Murakami at AndThen....

meta

