Slave and Sister, by Sabra Waldfogel

November 13, 2014 § 1 Comment

Screen Shot 2014-11-11 at 8.21.08 PM

Here’s one to read. Slave and Sister by Sabra Waldfogel – an author who is making waves on Amazon and for good reason. This is a skin-in-the-game kind of novel. Waldfogel takes you places with a certain hand, but never makes you feel led. The next part of the story dawns on you. Then the next part of the story happens. Not exactly in the way you thought but in a way that makes you say, “Ha!”

Here’s another thing. When I met my husband, he didn’t drink red wine. I liked red wine and drank it anyway. He liked me and so he drank it sometimes too. Then later he confessed that he didn’t like red wine before because he didn’t understand red wine. He said (and I think this is adorable) that he didn’t know you weren’t supposed to gulp it.

Stay with me.

Waldfogel’s book is plum full of history. Rich, amazing history. It’s also full of intimate details about the Jewish faith.

When you read her story, you can tell she loves history. And the Jewish faith. She loves these things even more than I love red wine.

I’m no history buff myself. I’m also not Jewish. But the way this book talks about these topics helps me see the color. The tannin. The legs of a part of history I thought I knew about. The subtle flavors of the Jewish religion. Again. A certain hand. Taking you on a tour that only Waldfogel can guide. You will love this about her book, too.

And last, but certainly not least, this book is a complex love story. A love story that has you hoping for the best but not knowing what the best really is. Or could be. Kind of like real love, sometimes.

So pick this book up and read it. You won’t regret it.

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Slave and Sister, by Sabra Waldfogel

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Slave and Sister, by Sabra Waldfogel at AndThen....

meta

