The Secret to Weight Loss

March 23, 2015 § Leave a comment

A few weeks ago, Hiram came home from Kindergarten in a funk. When I asked him what was the matter, he told me he “wanted to be a better kindergartener.” When I asked him what he could do to be a better kindergartener, he had two ideas:

  • Stop getting timeout at school
  • Stop sucking his thumb

I did not know he was getting timeouts.

Anyway. I thought the desire to be a better kindergartener was something to foster so I helped him formulate a goal. Together, we landed on 5 days without timeout at school. To celebrate: Chuck E Cheese’s. Also PS: He thought he’d just stop sucking his thumb.

At first, it was a little touch and go. A day without timeout and then a day with timeout. And then there was the day he said, “Mom, I sucked my thumb today. Way too much.” But now he reports good days all the time.

Last night I told Hiram I wanted to stop eating so many sweets. I think with all the TGT stress-eating I’ve gained 10 pounds and crave candy constantly. I know from experience that if I cut out sweets for a week or two, the craving goes away and it’s a lot easier to manage. So, I told Hiram my goal was two weeks without a treat.

He looked at me with such pity.

But then he told me he’d help me with my goal. He said he was going to ask me every night if I had a treat.

Today was my first day on this plan. After lunch I wanted a cookie. But then I remembered that I was going to have to look Hiram in the eye and say, “I know you’re working your tail off to stop sucking your thumb and that sometimes you sit on your hands so you don’t get timeout, but I went ahead and had that cookie anyway.”

Yeah. That is not happening.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Secret to Weight Loss at AndThen....

meta

