Hiram: 5 Years + 10 Months

April 12, 2015 § Leave a comment

IMG_3852

Rink Rat: Twice in the last month, Hiram has dropped in on Brad’s weekly Friday morning hockey session for a few minutes of skating with his dad. He absolutely loves being part of a ritual his dad has been doing faithfully since long before he was born. So far, it’s only been a one-off (x2) kind of thing. But there is a little something there. The very, very (very, very, very) early beginnings of something we all hope will be a lifelong happy memory for Hiram.

Easy Reader: I know he can read but I cannot get my head around it. I don’t know why. I listen to him read. I see that he is reading the same words I am reading. And yet. There is still a large part of my brain that insists (insists!) he must have the book memorized. The book we’ve never seen before. Or the one that has so many pages there is absolutely no way.  He finishes it up. Looks at me and says, “That was too easy. Easy, peasy, lemon squeezy.” It’s daily amazement.

April Fools! Sigh. Hiram seems to be in the camp with the people who absolutely love April Fools Day. Sadly, I am not in this camp but I promise to work on my attitude for next year. He spent all day on April 1 walking around doing variations of knock-knock jokes that were like this:

“Knock, Knock”

(who’s there?)

“Rock!”

(rock who?)

“And Roll! April Fools Day!”

Then you were required to laugh or he would look very, very sad. All day long this happened. On April 2 he tried it again and I actually kind of snapped at him. “No! April Fools Day is over!” He looked at me like I had just killed his puppy.

4 Years + 10 Months

3 Years + 10 Months

2 Years + 10 Months

1 Year + 10 Months

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hiram: 5 Years + 10 Months at AndThen....

meta

