Stand and Stomp

October 25, 2015 § 1 Comment

IMG_0265-0

Lew is taking skating lessons for the first time this fall. From what I can gather, the general idea at skating lessons is to master these skills in this order:

  • Stand on the ice without falling down
  • Stomp on the ice without falling down
  • Bend your knees without falling down
  • Then, and only then, try gliding

Eldyn has no patience for this. He wants to be a hockey player and he knows he needs to glide to be a hockey player. He needs to glide right this second.

I was walking him into lessons yesterday and suggested that maybe (just maybe?) he should try following his teacher’s directions. Try standing. Try stomping. Try bending his knees? Maybe those things would lead to gliding?

No. He was pretty sure not. And he wasn’t having it. “No mama! I want to stand and glide. NOT stand and stomp!”

At first, I did try “arguing” with him a little but it was clear that this wasn’t going to work. And so, when he told me that he was going out there to glide around like a pro, I told him I couldn’t wait to see him do it. I laced up his skates, got him one of those “walkers” you push around when you can’t skate, and sent him on his way.

He smiled at me from the ice. He might have even waved except he needed both hands to keep his balance. Then, he turned himself around and got right down to the business of…stomping. All the way across the ice.

I love my fierce little man.

 

 

Tagged:

§ One Response to Stand and Stomp

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stand and Stomp at AndThen....

meta

