2015 – The Year of Hunker Down

December 19, 2015 § Leave a comment

Winter Tree Art by Hiram

Winter Tree Art by Hiram

2015 – The Year of Hunker Down

I’ve been putting off writing our Christmas letter this year. Not because we didn’t have a fantastic year. (We did! A trip to NYC. Another one to Mount Rushmore. A big move for my parents, and becoming a Fairy Godmother to boot!) It’s just that, after a whole year, it sort of feels like the four of us are still where we were.

But then, when I think about it, I realize that’s not at all true. We each spent the year hunkering down in our own ways and now what we have to report on is the slow, steady progress of living.

When Eldyn was one, he taught himself to walk while he was in a room all by himself. Then he sauntered into the kitchen so casually I…wait, he’s walking?! That, my friends, was a taste of things to come. Eldyn has hunkered down to apply this style of learning in so many ways this year. He’s growing up right under our noses. He’s learned to ice skate, ride a bike, get away with everything and most importantly (to him) be hilarious. He turned four last week.

Hiram’s a first grader. When I asked him what he wanted me to say in our letter, he told me to tell you that he’s reading at the H-I level. And, he added, last spring he was only G. Which means he didn’t “go backwards” over the summer. He really is not kidding around with this reading stuff. He can read anything. If that’s not hunkering down, I don’t know what is.

Brad and I love our neighborhood so much, we were finally (finally!) able to decide to hunker down in our house for a while. We immediately began putting down roots.  Literally, in the form of a new raised vegetable bed, which is beautiful, ingenious and built by Brad. And figuratively, in the form of very, very deep post-holes which were the foundation for the boys’ favorite new thing – the “evolving fort” (also built by Brad).

I hunkered down this year to weather three rounds of layoffs at Target. Good.Ness. That uncertainty was trying. I’m still there though (!) and sitting in the strategy area now. I’ve also been working my head off on marketing and selling Antler, A – the children’s book I published with my friend Megan Moore Smith in 2014. It was nice to have that outlet this year. Sometimes when I think about the success we’ve had so far, I can’t believe it.

And so there you go. We’ve been hunkering down. Going to our same ol’ schools. Doing our same ol’ jobs. Sleeping in our same ol’ house. Living our same ‘ol lives. Which, by the way, we wouldn’t trade for the world.

Peace and blessings to each of you this Christmas season, especially those whose lives are (far) more eventful than ours.

Much love.

Hadley, Brad, Hiram (6) and Eldyn (4)

20151128_153328.jpg

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2015 – The Year of Hunker Down at AndThen....

meta

